Here we go again..

It’s been quite some time since I last blogged. I kept telling myself I would but I just couldn’t find it in me to write about heartache after heartache. Now here I am, a new journey on the horizon, and I want to share it. Not just for my friends and family members who may be curious, but also for our future child someday. I want to show them this so they know just how much they were wanted and exactly what we would go through to have them. So here it goes…

After multiple failed ovulation induction cycles and three failed IVF cycles, we decided that it was time to move on from our current physician. This brought us to where we are now. In August 2015, we traveled to Denver, CO to visit the Colorado Center for Reproductive Medicine and start our journey with Dr William Schoolcraft. Dr Schoolcraft is extremely well known in the fertility world and founded CCRM in 1987. Since then, CCRM has become nationally recognized in clinical excellence and advanced research in reproductive medicine. Where the national success rates are in the 30-40% range, CCRM has achieved 80% success rates consistently in previous years.

colorado-center-for-reproductive-medicine-17403-557b475122c25-634x359.jpg

We attended the infamous One Day Workup appointment in which multiple procedures were performed, too much blood was taken, and tests were performed. Everything looked great creating a mystery case for Dr S. This is where the CCRM science comes in. Multiple things have been suggested as to why we were not achieving success at our local clinic. Dr S. would like to treat me for these and believes that this is the answer. I have faith in him that he is correct because these specific treatments have never been suggested to me before and seem to fit my diagnosis. As we get into all those treatments, I will elaborate on them through this blog.

While we were out in Colorado, we did some traveling around.

Here is my MIL and I at the Celestial Seasonings Tea Factory in Boulder! IMG_4157.jpg

And we went to RMNP and stayed in Grand Lake, CO for a few nights!

DSC00862.jpgDSC00901.jpgIMG_4188.jpgDSC00919.jpg

We got to visit Red Rocks.

DSC00965.jpgDSC00966.jpgDSC00969.jpg

And a peak that overlooks the town of Golden, CO.DSC00985.jpgDSC00988.jpg

On the day we were to leave, my FIL pointed out a funnel cloud in the sky just outside of their neighborhood. It wasn’t until we looked up that we realized he was not joking! We drove towards to airport and were stopped due to more tornados and inclement weather. We decided then to change our flight to the next day.. which meant another night in this beautiful land!

IMG_4225.jpgIMG_4213.jpgIMG_4230.jpgIMG_4233.jpgIMG_4236.jpg

After we finally arrived home, we started completing all the testing and tying up the loose ends to get treatment started. This is when I was offered a new job in Women’s Health that I most certainly could not refuse, it’s my dream job! So treatment was put on hold due to that. In that time, I graduated with my bachelor’s degree and transferred to the Labor & Delivery unit in my hospital! Now that I am done with school and finishing up orientation on my new unit, it was time to get back to business and start treatment.

In about 3 weeks, we will travel to Denver and undergo an egg retrieval. These eggs will have sperm injected into them in a procedure called ICSI, or Intracytoplasmic Sperm Injection, in hopes that they fertilize. These embryos will then be grown to day 5 in which they will be genetically tested and frozen. After we receive that results, whether the embryos are normal or abnormal, we will then undergo the transfer in hopes to implant and achieve a pregnancy. Again, I will go into more detail once these procedures come up.

So for now, I want to end with this…

1 in 8 couples struggles with infertility. I am 1 in 8. But one day, I WILL be a mother. No matter the means of how I obtain my child, I will have him or her and they will be mine. I will love them like no one has ever or will ever love them. And I can’t wait until that day ❤

10426532_902240873141287_8679380847251767146_n.jpg

6 thoughts on “Here we go again..

    1. Yes please! Girls night sounds amazing.. unfortunately my work schedule is super hectic leading up to us leaving for CO. So when I come back though, I will take you up on that for sure! And I just noticed we have the same theme for our blogs! Whoops.. its just so pretty!

  1. My heart and prayers go out to you. My struggle wasn’t as long lasting as yours but the pain is real regardless. I will continue living you and your husband in my prayers.

  2. I am so Happy that you say “regardless of the means, I will be a mother”. A very beautiful statement. My daughter Kimberly could never have children. Her topical pregnancies ended with a filopean (sp) tube that burst. However she became a mother 5 years ago to a baby boy in need of love. At this point he is in Permanent Relative custody until he is 18, but plans on making the adoption final very soon. Regardless of the means, any child would be Blessed to have you. Well don’t quit trying, Love you little gal. Aunt Sars

Leave a Reply

